For better user experience, please use another browser.

The first call for proposals for Small Technical Grants for Assessment was open from 20 November 2020 to 29 January 2021. It is an open ended-call; proposals will be reviewed on a rolling basis in order of their receipt.

What are the small technical grants for assessment?

The purpose of BIOPAMA Small Technical Grants for Assessment (STGA) is to identify or update result-oriented priority actions for improved protected and conserved areas ‘management and governance, through new or updated quantified management and governance assessments and their associated enhancement plans.
The STGA aims are:
1) To enhance or update the content of management and work plans for improved effectiveness and governance of ACP protected and conserved areas;
2) To support the conservation targets achievement in ACP countries [1] and the national, regional and global reporting to CBD.
A STGA can fund one or several assessments (for instance within a Key Landscape of Conservation, a PAs network or a national PA system).

What is the total amount of a small technical grant?

Small Technical Grants for assessment will fund exclusively assessment for a maximum total value of ≤ EUR 20 000. Unlike the Medium Grants, there is no co-funding required for Small Technical Grants for Assessment.

The categories of eligible costs are:

  • Human resources. The costs of personnel working under an employment contract with the beneficiary or an equivalent appointing act and assigned to the action, provided that these costs are in line with the beneficiary’s usual policy on remuneration. Those costs include actual salaries plus social security contributions and other statutory costs included in the remuneration.
  • Travel. Costs of travel and related subsistence allowances, provided that these costs are in line with the beneficiary’s usual practices on travel and needed for the activities.
  • Other costs, services. Costs derived from subcontracts, provided that that the purchases are made in accordance with BIOPAMA II Procurement Policy and are in line with the national procurement regulations, if applicable. This can include the costs of mobilization of IMET Coaches, Green List Mentors, EAGL members and/or of PAME/PAGE experts/facilitators. The BIOPAMA Regional Observatory, the Green list team can provide information and contacts of coaches and experts if needed.

What types of assessments are eligible?

The eligible assessments encompass, for the purpose of the BIOPAMA AC STGA, quantified management and governance assessments (PAME, PAGE) – including IMET, METT, RAPPAM, the IUCN Green List, Enhancing our Heritage (EoH), SAGE, GAPA or equivalent – that identify the necessary enhancement plans with result-oriented priority actions, including the assessment of potential environmental and social risks of these.

Assessments must take place in one or several eligible ACP countries, and within priority areas. Priority areas are defined as: priority Areas, in wider conservation landscapes, include inter alia, key landscapes for conservation (where identified in ACP Countries), Key Biodiversity Areas (KBAs), Marine Managed Areas or other protected and conserved areas, networks and systems of protected areas.

Who is eligible for a small technical grant for assessment (STGA)?

To be eligible for a BIOPAMA AC STGA, applicants must:

  • be public or private legal entities (e.g. a registered/incorporated company or organisation) registered as a separate legal entity in an eligible ACP country ;
  • be in charge of or be involved[2] in the protected and conserved area(s) management and/or governance at the national, sub-national or site level;
  • be in charge of or be involved in the management of a transboundary conservation area;
  • be directly responsible for the preparation and management of the grant, and not acting as an intermediary;
  • not be a beneficiary of any other grant funded by the European Union (including EDF funds) for the same activities, in the same protected and conserved area(s), network or system of protected area or transboundary conservation area.

The categories of eligible organisations for BIOPAMA STGA are as follows:

*Special conditions apply to organisations established in an OECD country. These organisations are eligible in the case of contracts that are implemented in a Least Developed Country (LDC) or a Highly Indebted Poor Country (HIPC), as included in the list of Official Development Assistance (ODA) recipients.

What is the duration of a small technical grant?

The maximum duration is 5 months but it can be shorter depending on the type of activities funded.

Start Date: The STGA start date must follow the grant signature and be no later than February 2021.

End date: with a maximum duration of five months, the STGA end date must be no later than July 2021.

How to submit a proposal for a small technical grant for assessment?

The grant application process for STGA comprises a single stage, with the submission of a full proposal.

All STGA proposals should be submitted electronically on the BIOPAMA Action Component Portal. Submissions on paper or by e-mail will not be accepted.

Only applications submitted by the deadline stated in the description of the call and through the BIOPAMA Action Component Portal will be accepted.

Useful documents and links

Application documents

The following templates are being shared for reference. Interested organisations must note that applications must be submitted through the BIOPAMA Action Componet Portal, by creating an account and logging in at the link (see button above).

Timeline of the small technical grant for assessment 2020

  • 20 November 2020: Launch of the call for proposals for STGA.
  • 19 January 2021 at 23:59 CET: deadline for clarifications requests to the BIOPAMA Action Component regional focalpoints.
  • 29 January 2021 at 23:59 CET: closure of the call for proposals for STGA.


[1] The ACP countries eligible to the BIOPAMA Action Component encompass 78 countries (in alphabetical order): Angola – Antigua and Barbuda – Belize – Cape Verde – Comoros – Bahamas – Barbados – Benin – Botswana – Burkina Faso – Burundi – Cameroon – Central African Republic – Chad – Congo (Brazzaville) – Congo (Kinshasa) – Cook Islands – Côte d’Ivoire – Djibouti – Dominica – Dominican Republic – Eritrea – Eswatini- – Ethiopia – Fiji – Gabon – Gambia – Ghana – Grenada – Republic of Guinea – Guinea-Bissau – Equatorial Guinea – Guyana – Haiti – Jamaica – Kenya – Kiribati – Lesotho – Liberia – Madagascar – Malawi – Mali – Marshall Islands – Mauritania – Mauritius – Micronesia – Mozambique – Namibia – Nauru – Niger – Nigeria – Niue – Palau – Papua New Guinea – Rwanda – St. Kitts and Nevis – St. Lucia – St. Vincent and the Grenadines – Solomon Islands – Samoa – São Tomé and Principe – Senegal – Seychelles – Sierra Leone – Somalia – South Africa* – Sudan – South Sudan* – Suriname – Tanzania – Timor Leste – Togo – Tonga – Trinidad and Tobago – Tuvalu – Uganda – Vanuatu – Zambia – Zimbabwe.

* The EUTF represents the main catalyst of EU development funds for South Sudan. Only project proposals including transboundary activities are eligible for supporting stakeholders in South Sudan.

*While natural and legal persons established in South Africa are eligible to participate in procedures financed by the 10th/11th EDF, South Africa cannot be a beneficiary of contracts financed by the 10th/11th EDF. 

[2] Organisations with no official management mandate of the protected and conserved area can apply. Support letter from management authority; co-management agreement will be requested upon selection to verify involvement in management.

[3] See Larger than elephants, Inputs for an EU strategic approach to wildlife conservation in Africa : regional analysis, European Commission Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development, 2016.